

For information <u>SDVAN</u> or contact Patricia Frischer, coordinator 760 943 0148 <u>patricia@SDVisualArts.net</u>

SD Art Prize: NEWS UPDATES

SD Art Prize: Finale Exhibition for 2006/2007

Featuring All SD ART PRIZE Artists Raul Guerrero and emerging artist Yvonne Venegas Jean Lowe and Emerging Artist Iana Quesnell Ernest Silva and Emerging Artist May-ling Martinez Opening Reception: Sat. June 30, 6:30 to 9 pm. Exhibition continues until September 30. Cocktails and Hors D'oeuvres, DJ Music and Performance by <u>Sledgehammer Theatre</u> L Street Gallery 628 L Street, San Diego, 92101 (Across from the Omni Hotel) Gallery Hours: Tuesday - Saturday, 10 am - 5 pm Special Omni room rates \$199 for those attending the opening

SD Art Prize: New Contemporaries



Featuring Emerging Artist nominated for the SD Art Prize 2007/2008 Opening reception: Fri. June 22 from 6 pm to 9 pm. Exhibition continues through July 27, 2007 Simayspace at the Art Academy 840 G Street, Downtown SD, 92101 Tania Candiani, Alida Cervantes Lael Corbin. Matt Devine, Brian Dick, Christopher N. Ferreria, Andy Howell, Pamela Jaeger, Nina Karavasiles, Ben Lavender, Camilo Ontiveros, Jason Sherry, Tristan Shone, Shannon Spanhake, Brad Streeper, Nina Waisman, Allison Wiese Hours: Monday through Friday 9 am - 6 pm, Saturday 9 am - 1 pm



www.SDVisualArts.net 760.943.0148 info@SDVisualArts.net 2487 Montgomery Avenue, Cardiff by the Sea, CA 92007



SD Art Prize in North County

Featuring All SD ART PRIZE Artists of the 2006/2007seasson curated by Mary Catherine Ferguson
Raul Guerrero and emerging artist Yvonne Venegas
Jean Lowe and Emerging Artist Iana Quesnell
Ernest Silva and Emerging Artist May-ling Martinez
Opening Reception: March 1, 2008 6 - 8 pm Free for members of CCAE, \$10 to non-members
Exhibition continues until May 31, 2008
California Center for the Arts, Escondido 340 N. Escondido Blvd. Escondido, 92025
Hours: Tuesday – Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Sunday Noon - 4:00 p.m. Closed Mondays

SD ART PRIZE: Fusing Energy for San Diego Visual Arts: Mentorship, Education, Recognition, Collaboration

The San Diego Visual Art's Network and SanDiegoArtist.com have established the San Diego Art Prize which is given annually to three established and three emerging artists who have exhibited outstanding achievement in the field of Visual Arts. From June 30 to September 30, 2007 a group exhibition of all prizewinners 2006/2007 **Raul Guerrero**, **Jean Lowe**, **Ernest Silva** and emerging artists **Yvonne Venegas**, **Iana Quesnell**, **May-ling Martinez** will be shown and the prizes awarded at the L Street Gallery in the Downtown Omni Hotel from 6: 30pm – 9: 30pm and will be on view through November 30 at the L Street Gallery at the OMNI Hotel, 675 L Street, San Diego, 92101. The award is \$2500 for each of the established artists and \$1000 for each of the emerging artists. The San Diego Visual Arts Network is proud to contribute these awards, which were funded by **The Smart Family Foundation** with a \$50,000 gift.

For the second season of the SD Art Prize 2007/2008, **Eleanor Antin, Roman de Salvo and Marcos Ramirez (Erre)** have been selected as the established award recipients for the SD Art Prize. They will each be choosing an emerging artist to mentor and be included in their exhibitions at the L-Street Gallery in the coming season. Seventeen emerging artists have been nominated by a committee of art professionals. These artist will be featured in an exhibition at the Simayspace at the Art Academy from June 22 to July 27, 840 G Street, SD 92101.



www.SDVisualArts.net 760.943.0148 info@SDVisualArts.net 2487 Montgomery Avenue, Cardiff by the Sea, CA 92007



<u>Tania Candiani, Alida Cervantes, Lael Corbin, Matt Devine, Brian Dick,</u> Christopher N. Ferreria, <u>Andy Howell,</u> <u>Pamela Jaeger, Nina Karavasiles, Ben Lavender, Camilo Ontiveros, Jason Sherry, Tristan Shone,</u> <u>Shannon Spanhake, Brad Streeper, Nina Waisman, Allison Wiese</u>

Nominating committee for SD Art Prize 2007/2008

Artists: Yvonne Venegas, Iana Quesnell, May-ling Martinez, Raul Guerrero, Jean Lowe, Ernest Silva Art Notes Contributors: Stephanie Hanor, Derrick Cartwright, Teddy Cruz, Mary Beebe, Amy Adler, Tina Yapelli SD Art Prize Honorary Chairpersons: Wendy and Jonathan Segal, Larry and Debra Poteet, James Robbins SD Art Prize Committee: Patricia Frischer, Joan Seifried, Ann Berchtold

SD Art Prize Committee: Patricia Frischer, Joan Seifried, Ann Berchtold

We are particularly proud to announce that the 2006/2007 SD Art Prize artists Raul Guerrero, Jean Lowe, Ernest Silva and emerging artists Yvonne Venegas, Iana Quesnell, May-ling Martinez will be featured in a major exhibition at the California Center for the Arts, Escondido, 340 N.

Escondido Blvd. Escondido, 92025 from March 1 to May 31, 2008. This means that the SD Art Prize now has a north county venue as well as the one in downtown San Diego.

The SD ART PRIZE is dedicated to the idea that the visual arts are a necessary and rewarding ingredient of any world-class city and a building block of the lifestyle of its residents. Conceived to promote and encourage dialogue, reflection and social interaction about San Diego's artistic and cultural life, this annual award honors artistic expression. Ann Berchtold, Joan Seifried and Patricia Frischer are <u>ArtGirls.Inc</u> and are instigators and the event coordinators for the SD Art Prize. Please visit the <u>San Diego Visual Arts Network</u> for complete details of the SD ART PRIZE.

For more information contact:

Patricia Frischer, coordinator <u>SDVAN</u> 760.943.0148 <u>patricia@SDVisualArts.net</u> Ann Bercthold, curator <u>L Street Gallery</u> 858.254.3031 <u>ann@sandiegoartist.com</u> Douglas Simay, director <u>Simayspace</u> 619.231.3900 <u>doug@simayspace.com</u> Marie-Catherine Ferguson museum director <u>California Center for the Arts, Escondido</u> 760.839.4170 <u>mferguson@ci.escondido.ca.us</u>



www.SDVisualArts.net 760.943.0148 info@SDVisualArts.net 2487 Montgomery Avenue, Cardiff by the Sea, CA 92007